Sunnycrest Photography

My Baby Book Theme Shower. Houston Wedding Photographer.

Last weekend my family & my dearest & closest friends came together to celebrate my baby shower. It was an afternoon filled with love, joy, fun & most importantly, prayer & blessings.

From the get go I knew one thing for sure, I did not want a traditional baby shower, I wanted to keep things very simple but still lovely & creative. I decided to have a Baby Book Theme for the shower. I thought it would be a great idea because the books would look cute as centerpieces, but most importantly once the shower was over baby Daniel could keep all the books.

Every since we found out we were having a boy & I started shopping for baby clothes, I have become obsessed with the color green! I have never cared so much for it but now lime green is my favorite color! Obviously, I just had to incorporate it into the shower along with white. .

Here are my favorite photos from my shower!

I knew I wanted fresh flowers for the shower, I have always liked carnations but in the end I decided on Baby’s breath.

I fell in love with this pop up book from the moment I saw it & I knew it would look lovely as a centerpiece. I had two different centerpieces on each table; on one side I had a stack of books tied together by a white ribbon & on the other side an opened pop up book.

Everyone knows I LOVE garage sales!! Every month a nearby church hosts a big garage sale & they always have tons of cheap books. Baby Daniel has now a very big selection of books to enjoy!

As favors I decided to give my guests lip balms, personally cannot live without them.So I bought a bunch, removed the original wrapping and wrapped them in lime green duck tape to match the color theme. I also did not want to buy the typical baby shower favor tags & I also wanted something to go with my book theme. So I looked for the outline of a book online, printed them and used them as tags for the favors.

My mother in-law has a collection of lace tablecloths & tableware. She knew I did not want to use plastic & she was more than happy to let me borrow everything!.

IT’S A BOY. At the garage sale I also purchased regular books & made a couple of cute party banners. I am not claiming to have mad DIY skills but, am pretty happy with the way the banners turned out.

I also cut some cute hearts from book pages and glued them to the prize bags.

A friend offered to bring Mexican Bingo (most people know it as Loteria) for us to play at the shower. I had not played this game since I was a little girl, it brought a lot of great memories & it was tons of fun.

The first book I bought for baby Daniel was A Blessing from Above. I saw it at the garage sale & just fell in love with it! So I decided to make this book even more special for us by using it as a guest book. I asked my guest to write a wish or a blessing on it for our new family! We will cherish this book forever.

Now that the baby shower planning is over, it’s time to decorate Baby Daniel’s room! I know! I know! I am a bit behind but do not fear, mommy has everything under control.

LOVE, JOY & INSPIRATION.

 

This entry was published on May 8, 2014 at 15:19. It’s filed under My Corner and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

