Sunnycrest Photography

5 yr. Anniversary Part 4. Houston Wedding Photographer.

Houston Wedding Photographer

After shooting my first wedding, “I JUST KNEW” that I could see myself shooting weddings for a lifetime. I knew that there was A LOT I needed to learn and I knew it was not going to be easy and that it was going to be a lot of hard work but I was willing to try & learn. I was not going to give up on my new-found passion.

The first thing I learned at my first wedding was, that I needed to buy a flash unit if I wanted to continue on. The next step was, practice and I know that what I am about to say is probably the worst thing any photographer could ever do. So if there is any starting photographers out there take note & know there is a better way to this. Here it goes, I shot a couple of weddings for free so that I could practice. Again, NOT the best way to go guys. I obviously let the couples know I was not experienced and I had only shot one wedding and that’s why I was shooting weddings for free.

The second wedding I shot, was also a very small wedding I was only there for about two hours or so & I felt a little more prepared having my flash unit with me. Until my second lesson took place. So the wedding was pretty much over and suddenly my flash was not working & I started FREAKING OUT! Here is what happened & I am so embarrassed to say the following, but the batteries I used were not new and I only packed one set of batteries. I know that was pretty dumb. But I learned my lesson and I moved on. At the end of the day the bride & groom were pretty happy with the photos and that was all that mattered.

After the whole my flash is not working, but really it was not the flash it was the batteries experience. I committed myself to study & read as much about wedding photography as I could. Somehow, I found this amazing photography site full of information and experienced photographers helping not so experienced photographers like myself. Photo. net was such a blessing to me, I spent so much time reading and sometimes asking questions. I did not have a mentor, I had many photographer mentors.

Needless to say, first year was definitely THE TOUGHEST. I learned a lot of lessons by making TONS OF MISTAKES. Were there times when I wanted to give up? ABSOLUTELY! Photography as my UH counselor said; “IS NOT JUST ABOUT TAKING PRETTY PICTURES”  In this case wedding photography, is not for the fainthearted. It takes a lot of hard work but if you if commit to it, capturing someone’s most precious day is, THE MOST INCREDIBLE & AMAZING EXPERIENCE IN THE WORLD!

LOVE, JOY & INSPIRATION

This entry was published on January 24, 2013 at 07:29 and is filed under My Corner. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

