Sunnycrest Photography

DIY Easter Egg Centerpiece; Houston Wedding Photographer.

A friend of mine posted on Facebook a photo of a beautiful new wall decor in her house and I just loved it. It was simple yet beautiful. I was so inspired by it, so  I immediately started look for ideas to create something myself. One thing let to another and somehow I remember that Easter was around the corner and I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to start a new project. Needless to say I was so EXCITED!!! My goal here was to create a centerpiece that would serve two purposes, 1) To decorate my dinning table and 2) As little gifts for my friends and family as a thank you for being AMAZING!

I wanted to use only things I already had, the only thing I bought was the candy. Here is what I used:

Eggs shells. I love to eat eggs so collecting the shells was really easy. I just made a tiny hole at the tip of the shell big enough to stuff the candy. I could have used hard boiled eggs but, I wanted to stuff them with candy, plus it would have been a waste. I rather eat the egg and save the shell. 🙂

Paint bottles.

Stickers. Yes, I just happened to have Hello Kitty stickers. What can I say I am a fan.:)

Sticky notes. I wanted to include a sweet note, to let my family and friends know how much I appreciate them.

Candy or Stuffing goodies.

Like I said, candy was the only thing I bought.

Small pasta. To add a little bit of texture to my final centerpiece.

The process: I pasted a couple of stickers on the egg shell and then sprayed painted it.

I used the egg carton and plastic knives to help my eggs dry. I let them dry for a whole day just make sure. Once they were dry, I pealed the stickers off and Voila!!

Spray painting was a bit harder in the beginning. I have to admit that some of the eggs did not come out good. I sprayed a bit too much and the paint went under the sticker. After considering getting new shells and staring over, a great idea came to me. I decided to put stickers on the bad painted eggs and re-paint them all blue. So now the polka dots were colorful instead of white. That was actually kind of nice, I would have never thought of it.

I wrote a little something on the sticky note, pasted it on the candy and stuffed it last.

This is what my friends and family will get, a cute little stuffed with candy Easter egg. Hope they like it, as much I liked making them. 🙂

In the mean time before I give them out they are decorating my dinning table. As well as bringing joy and cuteness to my day.

Happy Day!!!

This entry was published on April 3, 2012 at 05:30 and is filed under My Corner. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

